Bruce MacDonald Athlete of the Year

Named in honor of the late 5-time Olympian (3x Athlete, 2x Coach), Bruce MacDonald (athlete bio), who initiated the inclusion of Race Walking in High School Track & Field in the US.

YearBoys State GirlsState
2023Clayton StoilVAHeather DurrantIL
2022Ryan AllenPATalia GreenCA
2021Jake LawsonPAAngelica HarrisIL
2020Samuel AllenNJTaylor EwertOH
2019Samuel AllenNJ Taylor EwertOH
2018Jordan CrawfordGA Taylor EwertOH
2017Cameron HaughtOH Lauren HarrisNY
2016Cameron HaughtOH Anali CisnerosIL
2015Cameron HaughtOH Anali CisnerosIL
2014Anthony PetersIL Ashleigh ReschOH
2013Alexander PetersIL Annica PennNY
2012Tyler SorensenCA Maite MoscosoFL
2011Tyler SorensenCA Maite MoscosoFL
2010Trevor BarronPA Abby DunnME
2009Trevor BarronPA Allison ChinOH
2008Trevor BarronPA Catie DavisNY
2007Ricardo Vergara
Roberto Vergara
TX Jenna MonahanNY
2006Ricardo Vergara
Roberto Vergara
TX Heather BulettiNY
2005Jared SwehoskyOR Katy HayesWI
2004Zachary PollingerNJ Maria MichtaNY
2003Zachary PollingerNJ Maria MichtaNY
2002Adam StaierME Maria MichtaNY
2001Benjamin ShoreyME      Robyn StevensCA

How AOY is decided?

The combination of Indoor and Outdoor seasons are considered.

Athletes who compete across all distances and rank highly in them all are given a higher rating, because of versatility in many distances.

Championship event placings are generally given greater weight than fast times.

Head to head competition (win/loss) against similarly ranked athletes is a major factor and will outweigh slightly faster times.

Breakdown of Winners by State per Gender

Boys: CA-2, GA-1, IL-2, ME-2, NJ-4, OH-3, OR-1, PA-5, TX-2, VA-1
Girls: CA-2, FL-2, IL-4, NY-8, ME-1, OH-5, WI-1
(through 2023)